CITY AND COUNTY OF SWANSEA

MINUTES OF THE LA GOVERNOR PANEL

HELD AT COMMITTEE ROOM 4, GUILDHALL, SWANSEA ON THURSDAY, 20 APRIL 2017 AT 2.05 PM

PRESENT: Mr J Bowen (Chair) Presided

Councillor(s)Councillor(s)Councillor(s)C AndersonL G ThomasT M White

Apologies for Absence

Councillor(s): A M Cook, V M Evans, J W Jones and C M R W D Thomas

Officer(s)

Kath Thomas Head of School Support Unit

Stephen Holland Lawyer

Gareth Borsden Democratic Services Officer

1 DISCLOSURES OF PERSONAL & PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS.

In accordance with the Code of Conduct as adopted by the City and County of Swansea, no interests were declared.

2 MINUTES.

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the LA Governor Panel held on 23 February 2017, be approved as a correct record.

3 **LA GOVERNOR VACANCIES.**

The School and Governor Unit Manager provided a 'For Information' report on the current list of LA Governor vacancies.

4 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC.

The Committee was requested to exclude the public from the meeting during the consideration of the items of business identified in the recommendations to the report on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as set out in the exclusion paragraph of 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended by the Local Government (Access to Information)(Variation)(Wales) Order 2007, relevant to the item of business as set out in the report.

The Committee considered the Public Interest Test in deciding to exclude the public from the meeting for the items of business where the Public Interest Test was relevant, as set out in the report.

It was **RESOLVED** that the public be excluded for the following items of business.

(CLOSED SESSION)

Minutes of the LA Governor Panel (20.04.2017) Cont'd

5 **LA GOVERNOR APPLICATIONS.**

The School and Governor Unit Officer reported on the applications for the LA Governor vacancies that required decisions.

RESOLVED that the following nominations be recommended to Cabinet for approval:

Craigcefnparc Primary School - Mrs Gaynor Ellis

Gors Primary School - Mrs Ann Morgan (Re-appointment)

Grange Primary School - Mrs Bronwen Williams (Re-appointment)

Mayals Primary School - Mrs Margaret Collins (Re-appointment)

Townhill Primary School - Mrs Joanne Martin (Re-appointment)

Bishop Vaughan Catholic Comprehensive - Mr Samuel Pritchard

YGG Llwynderw - Mr Adam Gilbert

Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr - Rev Ian Morris (Re-appointment)

Ysgol Pen Y Bryn - Mrs Jeannette Simpson

Ysgol Crug Glas - Cllr Fiona Gordon (Re-appointment)

6 LA GOVERNOR APPLICATIONS HELD ON FILE.

The School and Governor Unit Officer provided a 'For Information' report on the current list of LA Governor applications held on file.

The meeting ended at 2.15 pm

CHAIR