

City and County of Swansea

Minutes of the Council

Council Chamber, Guildhall, Swansea

Friday, 17 May 2019 at 2.00 pm

Present: Councillor D Phillips (Lord Mayor) Presided

Councillor(s) Councillor(s) Councillor(s) P M Black K M Griffiths C E Lloyd J E Burtonshaw D W Helliwell P N May M C Child T J Hennegan C L Philpott S E Crouch C A Holley S Pritchard J P Curtice Y V Jardine C Richards A M Day M H Jones B J Rowlands P Downing L R Jones R V Smith C R Doyle J W Jones A H Stevens M Durke E J King D G Sullivan M B Lewis W Evans L G Thomas E W Fitzgerald R D Lewis W G Thomas R Francis-Davies W G Lewis D W W Thomas A S Lewis L S Gibbard T M White F M Gordon

Officer(s)

Gareth Borsden Democratic Services Officer

Adam Hill Deputy Chief Executive / Director of Resources

Tracey Meredith Chief Legal Officer

Jeremy Parkhouse Democratic Services Officer

Ben Smith Chief Finance Officer / Section 151 Officer

Apologies for Absence

Councillor(s): C Anderson, N J Davies, V M Evans, S J Gallagher, J A Hale, P R Hood-Williams, B Hopkins, D H Hopkins, L James, P K Jones, S M Jones, E T Kirchner, P Lloyd, I E Mann, P M Matthews, A Pugh, J A Raynor, P B Smith, R C Stewart, M Thomas, L J Tyler-Lloyd, G D Walker and L V Walton

10. Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests.

In accordance with the provisions of the Code of Conduct adopted by the City and County of Swansea no interests were declared.

11. To Elect the Lord Mayor for the Municipal Year 2019-2020.

Resolved on the motion of Councillor Chris Holley, seconded by Councillor Graham Thomas that Councillor Peter Black be elected to the office of Lord Mayor of the City and County of Swansea for the Municipal Year 2019-2020.

Minutes of the Council (17.05.2019) Cont'd

Councillor Peter Black was robed and invested with the Chain of Office of Lord Mayor.

Mrs Angela Black was invested with the Chain of Office of Lady Mayoress.

The Lord Mayor then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

Councillor P M Black (Lord Mayor) Presided

12. To Elect the Deputy Lord Mayor for the Municipal Year 2019-2020.

Resolved on the motion of Councillor Des Thomas, seconded by Councillor Christine Richards that Councillor Mark Child be elected to the office of Deputy Lord Mayor of the City and County of Swansea for the Municipal Year 2019-2020.

Councillor Mark Child was robed and invested with the Chain of Office of Deputy Lord Mayor.

Mrs Marion Child was invested with the Chain of Office of Deputy Lady Mayoress.

The Deputy Lord Mayor then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

13. Inaugural Address Of The Lord Mayor.

The Lord Mayor thanked Council for his election and congratulated Councillors David Phillips and Sybil Crouch on their successful term of office as Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress.

He then addressed Council and thanked them for his appointment. He outlined that he had appointed Reverend Ian Drew Jones as his Chaplain and he concluded by announcing that the Lord Mayor's charities for his period of office would be Unity in Diversity, Crisis and the RSPCA (Llys Nini).

14. Retiring Lord Mayor.

Resolved on the motion of Councillor June Burtonshaw, seconded by Councillor Fiona Gordon that the Council's thanks be given to Councillor David Phillips for a successful term of office as Lord Mayor and Councillor Sybil Crouch as Lady Mayoress.

The Lord Mayor presented medallions on behalf of the Council to the retiring Lord Mayor and retiring Lady Mayoress.

Councillor Phillips in response to the vote of thanks, thanked the Council for its support during his term of office. He also reflected on the many duties during his term as Lord Mayor.

The meeting ended at 3.03 pm

Chair